Whatever your opinions on eBay maybe, you have to accept that it is one of the most popular websites out there. It makes buying and selling used products very simple. It is a great hub for normal people to get good deals and also make some money. But what if you wanted to delete your eBay account? The reasons may include privacy protection to avoiding identity theft or just closing your seller’s account. If you want to know more, this is a guide on how to delete eBay account permanently.
Do remember that once your account is deleted, there is no going back. There is only one way to permanently delete your account. If you just want to not become a seller anymore, we have steps for you too.
How to Close Seller Account on Ebay
If you just want to close your seller account, you do not have to delete your eBay account. Many sellers who do not want to sell anymore simply deactivate their seller’s account but keep their account active to purchase and make bids. If you want to just close yor seller’s account, follow these steps.
- Visit eBay on your computer using this link.
- Click on your name at the top left corner of the website. Select Account Settings from the drop down.
- On the left under eBay views, you can find subscriptions.
- Select Active subscriptions and you can find the eBay Stores subscription and click either Change Level or Cancel Subscription.
- To close your store, press the close store button.
That should deactivate your eBay account. Keep in mind that you also have to remove all of your payment options. You also have to make a one-time payment to close your seller’s account and request for a refund if you have any credits.
How to Delete eBay Account Permanently
If you are still reading, you probably have already made up your mind about deleting your eBay account. In this section, we will look at some of the things you need to keep in mind for this.
Requirements for Closing Your Account
- Make sure you solved all your disputes. You cannot close your account if you have any suspensions or restrictions.
- Also make sure all of your fees are paid and your account balance is zero.
- You can’t close your account if you have any bids on other items.
- You should also not do it if you have payments pending.
What Will Happen if You Permanently Delete Your Account
- Your account will not be deleted immediately. You will have a waiting period of 30 days if you want to change your mind but you can’t bid, make purchases, list items, or change your contact information. An email will be sent to you after the account is deleted.
- If you bought or sold anything within 30 days of requesting to close your account, the waiting period will last 60 days.
- After you delete your account, you will not be able to sign in using the same user ID or email address. As in you cannot even sign up for a new account with the same email address. However, you can use a different address to use ebay again if you want to. This is apparently to ensure that the same users don’t get away with poor feedback.
- You’ll no longer be able to use the user ID or email address associated with your closed account to access any part of eBay that requires an account,. Also, your Feedback profile will no longer be available to other members. You won’t be able to access any part of eBay that requires an account.
- Even after you delete your account, your feedbacks will still remain. We recommend you change your User ID to something else if it is the same as your email ID.
Methods to Delete eBay Account
- First thing you have to do is visit eBay on your PC. You can use this link.
- Log in to your ebay account if you manually signed out the last time you visited the website. If you didn’t you should already be logged in.
- Click on your name at the top left corner and select Account settings from the drop down menu.
- Under the account tab, you can find the option Close My Account at the far right of the page. Click on it.
- An article that explains all the features your about to lose will show up and at the bottom of the title What you need to know about closing your account, you can find another close account button.
- They will ask you for your reasons of leaving. You can choose your answer from the drop down menu. The answers can be security reasons, billing issues, account issues etc. They may also ask more detailed questions to know exactly why you want to permanently delete your ebay account.
- After you hit the blue continue button, you will be once more asked to confirm your choice. You can choose your options from another drop down menu. If you change your mind, select “Yes, I’d like to keep my account open”.
- Click on “No, please close my account” and then press continue.
- They will inform you that your account will be closed in approximately seven days, you can’t ever use this email address to login again and other things we have already discussed. Check “I read and understand the above information” and then press the blue continue button.
- You will be sent a confirmation email and you have the option of changing your mind for approximately 30 days by contacting them here. After that, you wouldn’t have the option to do so.
Note: You can also follow these steps to delete Ebay account from phone but it won’t be a good user experience.
Hopefully you have found your solution in this guide. This really is the only method to delete an eBay account. Make sure you read through the requirements and the consequences of deleting your account. If you have any doubts or this article has helped you, please leave a comment in the comment section down below.