How to Delete PSN Account [4 Simple Methods]

Have you ever created your brother’s account in your PS4 or PS4 pro just because he wouldn’t stop asking? Do you have the user account of a person you are no longer friends with? We’ll help you get rid of these unwanted PlayStation Network accounts. We have compiled a list of 4 methods on how to delete PSN account on PS4, PS3, PC. Please keep reading to know more.

PSN stands for PlayStation Network and it is a digital media service provided by Sony. You can join it for free or pay them for more features. These features include online multiplayer, exclusive access to new game demos,  10GB of online storage for game saves and exclusive content in the PlayStation store.

How to Delete PSN Account

If you want to remove a PSN account from your console, there are several steps to do that. But if you permanently want to delete your account, there is a way but it is not really up to you as a user. A backup of your data will be recommended. The methods are listed down below.

1. Deleting as a Primary User

This is the only way available to delete a PSN account without resetting the entire console. Keep in mind that this user’s save data, screenshots and video clips will be removed from the PS4. Just follow

  1. When you go to the power settings and click on switch user, you can see the list of all the PSN accounts in your console. Log in to your primary account.
  2. Go to the options menu by pushing the left joystick up. Keep scrolling right until you find a toolbox icon. Press X to select Settings.
  3. You will see a list of settings. Select Login Settings.
  4. You can find the option Delete User under User Management. Select it.
  5. A list of the existing user accounts will appear. Select the account you want to delete by pressing X and you will be asked for confirmation. . If you delete your primary account, it will ask you whether you are ready to initialize. Initializing mean resetting your console to it’s factory settings. Make sure that you have all your important data backed up.
  6. If you try to switch users again, you will be able to see that the users have been deleted.

This way you can delete PSN Account on PS4.

2. Resetting as the Primary User

This method deletes every PSN account including the primary and all the other user data. We would recommend that you make sure you back up your important data.

  1. Once again, go to the power settings and click on switch user, you can see the list of all the PSN accounts in your console. Log in to your primary account.
  2. Go to the options menu by pushing the left joystick up. Keep scrolling right until you find a toolbox icon. Press X to select Settings.
  3. Select Initialization and then select Initialize PS4. Choose full and you will be asked for confirmation. That’s all there is to it.

3. Reset Using Safe Mode

If for some reason, the above steps haven’t worked for you, try resetting your console in safe mode. Again, we recommend a backup of your saves and video clips.

  1. Press down on the PS4’s power button until you hear a beep. You can also see that the light turns red. now pull your fingers back.
  2. Press down on the power button again for sometime. You will hear two beeps; one initially and another one about 7 seconds later. The PS4 will now be in safe mode.
  3. Make sure that your controller is connected via USB. Navigate towards Restore default settings and press X. This will restore everything back to the way it was when you first purchased it.

4. Permanent Deletion

This can’t be done by a user alone and you will need help from Sony’s side. Keep in mind that this will delete all your purchases, subscription and you  cannot login to any other PS4 or PS4 pro using this account. PSN wallet will also be deleted along with anything in it. You have to really make sure if you want to follow through with this method.

  1. All you have to do is make an note of your information. This includes your email address, your PSN online ID and any other security information.
  2. Visit the chat support website using this link.
  3. Select the PSN Account Help and then choose Contact Us.
  4. Answer the security question the support agent asks you and they will take care of deleting your account.

Final Take

So we have listed out all the 4 methods you can use to delete PSN accounts. Hopefully, this article has managed to solve any issues or doubts you were having with this. You can leave us a comment down in the comments section below if you have any more doubts or suggestions. You can also tell us if this article helped you.

Leave a Reply